2 down, 7 to go
[2005-06-26]

Yeesh. I worked out for 30 minutes and only burned 96 calories. It felt like a lot more to me, especially during the lunges.

I feel so guilty for having not one but two desserts today... One in the middle of the afternoon, just took the half-pint of coffee ice cream out of the freezer and ate it out of the box. I know, you're supposed to scoop out a portion of 1/2 cup and I ate twice that much, then had a slice of dulce de leche cake after dinner, but I did quash my craving for a Foster's chocolate chip milkshake yesterday afternoon.

My boyfriend says that even if I don't drastically change the way I eat, I should be losing weight just because I am exercising more (as in, more than just my morning walk to work, which was the only exercise I had before). I don't quite know about that. I always have cravings for sweets and fatty things, and it's not easy to stop them. I get a little depressed every time I succeed in talking myself out of an iced latte in the afternoon when I get Starbucks for my boss.

I have been eating more vegetables the last couple of weeks. Usually we have some broccoli with dinner, as that is one of the few vegetables we both like. At work I have been making sure that I get at least 2 salads per week, and actually eating the greens and not just eating the tuna/chicken/egg salad on top. I come from a culture that relies heavily on carbs (mostly in the form of rice, potatoes, dumplings or noodles) so I haven't cut them all out, but I have been trying to not eat quite so much of them.

Butter is really hard for me to reduce... it just makes scrambled eggs so much softer and fluffier and tastier, and I put at least 1/4 cup in any macaroni and cheese I make, regardless of the directions on the box.

I've been really bad with the soda this week, too. I think I've gone back to how much I used to drink before I "quit".

Ok, enough mental dietary flagellation. I'm going to go read a bit before bed.

<< || >>